MASS HYPNOSIA-Interview im MetalCrypt.com

MASS HYPNOSIA-Interview im MetalCrypt.com 

Interview with vocalist and guitarist Karl Rosales

Interview conducted by Luxi Lahtinen

Date online: February 10, 2018

Quite likely some of you have visited San Mateo, Rizal, Philippines and fell in love with the absolutely beautiful and breathtaking landscapes. Being a tourist in some far distant country is nice and relaxing, isn't it?

From the same place comes a truly badass Death/Thrash Metal trio called Mass Hypnosia. Formed back in 2009, Mass Hypnosia have been making a name for themselves with two full-length studio albums (Attempt to Assassinate, released in 2010 and Toxiferous Cyanide, released in 2016) plus a couple of split albums and are becoming an underground force. The band has also shared stages with international acts like Possessed and Angelcorpse, giving them much-needed experience.

The Metal Crypt contacted Karl Rosales (guitar/vocals) to talk about this Philippine Death/Thrash gem, that country's underground Metal scene and what they have in store in the near future.

Luxi: Let's start by asking, how you are doing, Karl?

Karl: Everything is fine over here Luxi. Just having coffee and spending time writing songs. I'm currently reviewing new songs and mastering songs for a friend's band. This week has been a bit stressful for me.

Luxi: Mass Hypnosia was formed back in 2009. Would you tell us how you first found like-minded musicians to play Thrash/Death Metal?

Karl: Those were very special times for us because I had the most free time. Emman and I saw each other again that year after long years of hibernation. We were both caught in the pit of working or earning money. Thrash Metal music was very rampant during those days. There were lots of kids and great artists performing the same genre.

Luxi: What were some of the bands that were influences for Mass Hypnosia in the beginning?

Karl: Mass Hypnosia had lots of influences in those days. We were big fans of Kreator as well as Swedish and US Death and Thrash Metal bands. It's crazy stuff, my friend, as we have lots of influences. We even had a crisis in terms of what to write since we were jump-starting the band. But the mission of the band is to go extreme and create a new sound based on local acts from those days; to Violate, Penetrate and Lacerate.

Luxi: The debut album, Attempt to Assassinate, pretty much set the musical direction for Mass Hypnosia; furiously and wildly performed Thrash/Death Metal that pays homage to the band's earliest influences from Kreator to Possessed and so on. Are you still happy with the debut?

Karl: The Attempt to Assassinate album really set the direction for Mass Hypnosia and its release will always remind us that we are still in this godforsaken game. There was a time when the band decided not to play and focus on family and other stuff but we really can't help ourselves and decided to continue. There is this saying that goes "your hardest times often lead to the greatest moments of your life. Keep going. Tough situations build strong people in the end". We are happy because it's our first album, which we highly celebrate. We never thought we would have an album given that it's very hard to create and produce one. However, I'm not fully satisfied with its tone in the end. Maybe if we were given a bit more time, it will satisfy us more. But during those times, the excitement of having an album caught up with us, which was a lifelong dream. But we did learn our lessons and that's what's important. All the mistakes were corrected in the second album, Toxiferous Cyanide.

Luxi: To me it seems Attempt to Assassinate was well received among metalheads around the world. The only problem is the distribution; it's really hard to find. Are you trying to find a distributor for Europe and the USA?

Karl: Yes, the maniacs abroad are fond of listening to our debut album. It's a must-have for maniacs who want their Thrash brutal and better sounding.

Our dear friend Alvin Esperanza released the album on December 4, 2010 under One-A Records, limited and probably just enough for locals and a few copies for sharing around Southeast Asia. We really had no idea that a number of maniacs overseas would be excited about that release. In fact, inquiries on AtA grew after the release of our second album. However, the label decides the future. But we just hope that it will be seen in Europe and USA catalogs someday.

Luxi: How did you end up signing a deal with German Ragnarök Records?

Karl: I guess we ended up with Ragnarök Records because we first released the album on cassette with limited copies on Varmtstal Records (Malaysia). They are also great friends of ours. Two tracks were uploaded on Bandcamp as part of the promotion. It got noticed by Stephan, who is the best in his job, from Ragnarök Records. We didn't send the Attempt to Assassinate album to him, which sucks because he has been hunting down that album for quite some time now. I think he found a copy over the net but it's a bit pricey. Our royalties are also sold out and we have nothing to share for now. But I am still hoping I can find a copy for his collection.

Luxi: Your follow-up album, Toxiferous Cyanide, came out on Ragnarök Records in December 2016, and you pushed the pedal to the metal even more. Do you believe Toxiferous Cyanide will please you for many years to come?

Karl: I like that phrase "pedal to the metal" haha!! Yes, we pretty much pedaled it up to prove ourselves on that record and we are amazed at how thrash maniacs hailed the songs. That record was six years in the making and we spilled a lot of blood just finding the proper tone, my friend. We have already written the songs for the third album even before TC was released. Mixing and mastering were the main issues in that whole music production. We can't find the perfect balance for it because each song has its own personality. We really didn't have any interest in releasing it until our friend in Malaysia (Varmstal Records) got interested and pushed us to release the album on cassette. There were lots of sacrifices but they were all worth it.

Yes, Luxi, that record still gives us chills every time we listen to it. It has the perfect tone the band is trying to achieve.

Luxi: When you write songs for Mass Hypnosia, what things do you pay attention to get the sound you want that best represents the band?

Karl: Usually getting inspired is number one. There are times when the tunes just come to you. Sometimes lyrics don't match or are missing a lot, so it has to sit for a while until you get the proper words or note for it. We really don't have any ritual. Maybe one thing is just watching the news or drinking alcohol with Emman or just relaxing a bit and find the perfect timing to draft the song.

Luxi: Do you normally take the judge's role as to which songs can be used for Mass Hypnosia?

Karl: While it is true that I write 70% of the riffage and lyrics, everything is polished during rehearsals, where each individual provides input. If we feel a part does not work, then we immediately ditch that in favor of what we can stand behind 100%. At the end of the day, we write songs we enjoy hearing ourselves.

Luxi: Most of the songs on Toxiferous Cyanide were released on splits and demos (7 out of 8 songs). Did you want to re-record this old stuff with a better studio quality and save the band's new songs for your next album/EP release perhaps?

Karl: Only three songs from the album were released by Bloodbath Records (Thrash Daisakkai- Japan), which have different vocal production and mix. We rearranged those songs and dubbed all the vocals again. Sometimes it helps you to review your songs, to make a demo of the whole album and listen to it until your ears bleed. During its production, we also thought of re-recording the full-length album, but we thought that that was enough. For the third album, we already have 14 songs, but Emman and I will pick nine and make an EP first followed by a full-length.

Luxi: Is it easy to find professional recording studios in the area where you live?

Karl: Lucky enough, we have friends and comrades that run a studio who understand what we are doing. Professional recording studios are easy to find here but most of them are costly. Aside from them, I also have some knowledge of the whole recording process, which makes it easier to complete the album. It also saves us time and money, plus we have the luxury to focus on the sound that we like.

It's not that easy for us to make this follow-up album. We all have day jobs, so we see each other once a week. Once a good riff or idea pops out in my mind, I make sure to record it on my phone or simply write it down. The whole album concept is all blood, sweat, and tears. We have been to different recording studios to find the right place for us. There were lots of re-arrangement of the song structures. You will never really know if it is the final output. The whole process is a total mindfuck. We really put all our effort and sacrifices here in this second album, and we are proud and confident that we outdid the first one.

Luxi: Do Metal bands use their own home studios for demo/album recordings?

Karl: There are lots of recording studios here in the Philippines but only a few that produce a sound that fits an old school Metal vibe. Some studios offer a sound that is either over-produced (which kills the DIY ethic completely) or too raw.

For MH we use both elements and demand for a lot of headroom for our recording. We know our music style very well and what it should sound like. We push ourselves to the limit. We usually make drafts of our recording and study what is missing until we all agree on the sound or the whole production of the song. Hell, we don't care if time is wasted as long as we are fully satisfied with the final outcome. We usually don't hire someone, we tried but recently I tend to do all the mixing so its fucking DIY, fewer people to haggle and less money spent.

Luxi: Mass Hypnosia have played a bunch of gigs and according to one pics I saw on the Internet, one was in support mighty San Francisco Death Metal warriors Possessed. How was that experience for you guys?

Karl: We have done a lot of shows since 2009 and there are lots of gigs here in the Philippines. Just in Manila, oh it was crazy bro! It was pulled off by In Coffin and Sick Chainsaw Productions. We were invited, and we flew in and played. It was a bit scary and tense, but all went fine and great. We have a lot of respect for the mighty Possessed.

Luxi: Are you aiming to play some gigs outside of the Philippines in the future? How are those plans progressing? Do you book your gigs yourselves or do you have someone who has taken on this task?

Karl: We really shared our music abroad and it was really an underground thing to do. Visiting a place or country is necessary for Mass Hypnosia, but sharing our sound in person is hard as it entails lots of preparation. We do sometimes book ourselves as we know a lot more about our airline's promo packages. Sometimes they book us to play in their country or play locally, but we always assist. Playing outside from our comfort zone is always an opportunity as it helps us learn more and meet new friends and share camaraderie.

Luxi: Are there bands in your home country that you enjoy playing with due to a similar musical style?

Karl: Absolutely! Bands like End of Man, Exitus and Amaranhig. There are lots of bands to mention but those are off the top of my mind. They have cool attitude and musicality, you should interview them also my friend.

Luxi: I noticed that one of the cover songs you have played is Demolition Hammer's ".44 Caliber Brain Surgery", which fits your set list perfectly. What other cover songs have you done?

Karl: Mass Hypnosia has a lot of influences and we cover songs as a tribute to what those guys did for the genre. We'd like to help bands like us form their own respective characteristics to their sound. Aside from Demolition Hammer's ".44 Caliber Brain Surgery" we also did a cover of Death's "Denial of Life", a few live covers of Kreator's "Extreme Aggression" and "Betrayer", and Braindead's "Eternal War".

Luxi: Can you recommend some other Philippine bands to readers of The Metal Crypt; bands we should keep our ears out for in the future?

Karl: There's a Death Metal band here called Amaranhig. Their name means undead or living dead in Western Visayan dialect. All their songs are written in our native language. They play mid-paced old school horror-infused Death Metal. You should check them out, they just released their debut album in March 2017.

Luxi: How was 2017 for Mass Hypnosia overall? Do you believe you have a great year ahead of you?

Karl: 2017 was good to us. We have a new drummer now. He is cool and plays pretty tight. We also had a gig in KL, opened for Angelcorpse last August here in Manila. But, the highlight of it all was the release of our second album (Toxiferous Cyanide) which received a lot of positive feedback, reviews and gig invites. It was very flattering and emotional for us because we really sweat our asses off with this album. I think we finished and released it at the right time.

Luxi: If you had to choose the three most influential Thrash Metal albums for yourself that made you grab a guitar back in the day, what would they be?

Karl: There are lots!!! I grabbed a guitar to play Beatles songs but for Metal it's Metallica's Master of Puppets album. It has lots of epic riffs. Kreator's Pleasure to Kill, which, in my opinion, is way ahead of its time. This album transcends Thrash, the riffs are so ugly and brutal they elevate this album to a Death Metal feel. The third one is none other than Slayer's Reign in Blood album.

Luxi: Thank you Karl for taking your time with these questions and keep up the great work with Mass Hypnosia. You are entitled to the famous last words.

Karl: Massive hails to you, Luxi, for your unbridled support for Mass Hypnosia - we are truly humbled. We would also like to send our gratitude to MH maniacs in South East Asia and in Europe; we hope to be able to play on Euro soil in the near future. We would also like to announce that we have signed with the mighty I Hate Records from Sweden for a vinyl edition of Toxiferous Cyanide; there will be the usual black wax and a limited colored version. Hopefully this will be released within the first quarter of 2018. Further details will be made available shortly. Kill or be killed!

Karl, on behalf of Mass Hypnosia.

Link to the interview in MetalCrypt

Mass Hypnosia's "Toxiferous Cyanide" in MetalCrypt.com

Mass Hypnosia's "Toxiferous Cyanide" in MetalCrypt.com (Finnland/Suomi)

Rating: 4,25/5 points; Autor: Luxi Lathinen

Label: Ragnarok Records
Year released: 2017
Duration: 41:30
Tracks: 9
Genre: Thrash Metal
Rating: 4.25/5
Review online: April 28, 2017
Reviewed by: Luxi Lahtinen

Mass Hypnosia, a trio out of San Mateo, Rizal, has been around since 2009 and have already got a couple of split releases and one full-length studio album (titled Attempt to Assassinate, in 2010) out. Toxiferous Cyanide is the band's second one, and man, do they kick ass! It depends, of course, on how you look at things, but if early Kreator, early Sadus, and Blood Feast are those names that have always set a fire under your butt, then look no further. On this album, the trio churns out a ferocious set of malicious, raw, filthy, and merciless sounding Thrash Metal that definitely leaves no one cold. The band's vocalist and guitarist Karl Rosales sounds deceptively like ex-vocalist Gary Markovitch from New Jersey's own Thrash heroes Blood Feast.

Mass Hypnosia seem to understand what it takes to really make pretty impressive and ear-burning Thrash. There's nothing not to like here, especially if you like your Thrash Metal aggressive, face-melting, dangerous, and churned out with a true "thrash-till-death" attitude. MASS HYPNOSIA REEK OF THRASH METAL WITH THEIR EVERY CELL.

Mass Hypnosia`s "Toxiferous Cyanide" in MetalCrypt.com

Mass Hypnosia in Heavenofheavymetal.blogspot

Mass Hypnosia-Review in HeavenofHeavyMetal.blogspot

Rating: 82/100; Autor: Matti

Mass Hypnosia - Toxiferous Cyanide (2016)

Per chi ha fretta:

Dopo il demo No Mercy for Victory (2015), i filippini Mass Hypnosia si confermano un gruppo interessante col loro secondo full-lenght Toxiferous Cyanide (2016). Le coordinate del gruppo sono cambiate molto poco rispetto al predecessore: quello del trio è sempre un thrash/death metal ignorante che guarda all’incarnazione anni ottanta del genere. Al tempo stesso non risulta un suono troppo trito, grazie al talento e all’energia dimostrate dai filippini: così, l’album incide quasi sempre bene, nonostante un suono ancora un po’ grezzo, un pelo di omogeneità e qualche pezzo meno riuscito. A dispetto di questi difetti la scaletta contiene grandi squilli, come Here’s the Knife, Krucifier, No Mercy for Victory (tutte e tre già sentite nel demo) e Stigmata. Per tutti questi motivi, Toxiferous Cyanide si rivela un buonissimo album, sopra alla media attuale del proprio genere: i fan del thrash/death d’annata dovrebbero prenderlo seriamente in considerazione!

La recensione completa:

Ho già avuto a che fare, in passato, coi filippini Mass Hypnosia. Avevo apprezzato molto il loro promo No Mercy for Victory, recensito a inizio 2016 e finito secondo nella classifica di fine anno di Heavy Metal Heaven. E così, quando mi è capitata l’opportunità di recensire il loro nuovo lavoro, Toxiferous Cyanide, non ci ho pensato due volte ad accettare. Secondo full-lenght della loro carriera – il primo, Attempt to Assassinate, risale al 2010 – è uscito lo scorso dodici dicembre sotto la tedesca Ragnarök Records. Il genere che i Mass Hypnosia affrontano in esso è lo stesso connubio ignorante di thrash e death già sentito in No Mercy for Victory - i cui quattro pezzi sono peraltro presenti qui in una nuova veste. È uno stile volutamente retrò, che si rifà principalmente a Sepultura, Sarcofago e Possessed, ma anche al thrash più classico degli anni ottanta. Eppure, Toxiferous Cyanide non suona troppo trito: merito della grande energia dei Mass Hypnosia e del loro buon talento nel creare qualcosa che sia almeno un po’ personale. Insomma, rispetto al demo precedente non è cambiato molto, a parte un suono lievemente migliore, più nitido, ma ancora un po’ piatto e sporco, il che limita la resa dei filippini, anche se non di troppo. Il vero difetto di Toxiferous Cyanide è invece un pelo di omogeneità, con alcune impostazioni che a tratti si ripetono, specie a livello di ritmo. È in particolare il problema dei pezzi nuovi: quelli di No Mercy for Victory continuano a essere eccelsi, ma gli altri sono un po’ ondivaghi, si dividono tra alcuni ottimi e altri che lo sono un po’ meno. In fondo però non è un gran problema: come leggerete tra poco, abbiamo lo steso un album ampiamente sopra alla media.

Here’s the Knife comincia sempre con la progressione di riff che già avevo lodato nella versione del demo piena di incastri vincenti e di riff splendidi. È una cavalcata di grandissimo impatto, travolgente, che va avanti per tra bordate thrash classico e passaggi più estremi, quasi tre minuti di puro godimento strumentale. Tuttavia, il piacere non cala quando il pezzo svolta su una norma più frenetica,accompagnata dall’ingresso in scena dallo scream rauco e acido di Karl Rosales. Abbiamo lo stesso una norma efficace, grazie alla semplice alternanza tra strofe tempestose e convulse e ritornelli aggressivi e d’impatto, entrambi supportati da un riffage vorticoso di grande forza. Si cambia strada solo per il passaggio centrale, in principio più tranquillo ma minaccioso e potente, per poi partire in una fuga potente, su cui Rosales sfodera un assolo slayeriano. È un altro passaggio ben riuscito di una canzone favolosa, che apre Toxiferous Cyanide col botto! In principio, la successiva Terror Panic sembra pendere più sul lato thrash dei Mass Hypnosia, col suo riffage molto tradizionale. Presto però i giochi si fanno più cupi e rabbiosi: inizia da qui una falsariga ossessiva e martellante, che fugge con potenza e si mantiene su alte velocità a lungo. Qua e là spuntano alcuni stacchi che fanno fiatare un pochino il pezzo, ma di norma sono brevi. Solo al centro c’è spazio per un passaggio thrashy un po’ più trattenuto, in cui si mette in mostra il batterista James Esguerra. È però solo un momento, presto la frenesia riprende il sopravvento. Per il resto, abbiamo una piccola scheggia impazzita, forse non tra i migliori del disco ma decisamente godibile. Dopo un breve intro più cadenzato, Bullet Face si rivela anche più esasperata della media dell’album. La velocità è altissima, e il riffage è a lungo orientato verso il death metal classico, per esempio nei ritornelli, possenti e rabbiosi. Il gruppo però non punta su questo tipo di aggressione in maniera monotematica: per esempio le strofe sono diverse, veloci come il resto ma più classiche, con il loro riffage dagli accenni addirittura speed e NWOBHM, grazie anche al basso di Emman Tadena, bene in mostra. Si cambia direzione invece nella seconda metà, che dopo un passaggio cadenzato con strane dissonanze comincia un’avanzata persino più scatenata che in precedenza, un vero e proprio assalto sonoro. È una progressione imperiosa, che dura fin quasi al cadenzato finale, in cui si mescolano le varie suggestioni già sentite fin’ora; si tratta della ciliegina sulla torta di un pezzo buonissimo, non troppo lontano dal meglio dell’album.

Krucifier comincia quasi subito con un’alternanza vertiginosa tra momenti davvero frenetici e altri di poco più tranquilli, in uno scambio repentino e a tratti quasi stordente. La smania del gruppo si calma in maniera lieve solo con la progressione centrale, con influenze dal thrash più tradizionale, grazie a lead e riff che riecheggiano dei primi Metallica. Si cambia ancora strada per il finale, lento e pestato, con bordate di chitarra e un Rosales davvero malvagio alla voce a generare un’atmosfera davvero minacciosa. In ogni caso, le tre frazioni si incastrano a meraviglia, e il fatto che rispetto alla versione del demo questa sia più dinamica dà al tutto una marcia in più. Il risultato è di caratura altissima: se quello già sentito in passato era il punto più basso di No Mercy for Victory, in questa nuova forma è uno dei picchi di Toxiferous Cyanide! Dopo un intro di puro impatto, anche Stigmata si avvia in maniera scatenata e velocissima, con le solite staffilate thrash/death a cui i Mass Hypnosia ci hanno già abituato fin’ora. Stavolta però i filippini evolvono di più la loro musica: pian piano la melodia penetra tra le trame, finché il pezzo stesso non rallenta. Ne vien fuori una lunga progressione di tempo medio-alto, che preferisce un mood preoccupato e oscuro ma anche vagamente evocativo rispetto alla potenza, che pure non manca mai. È una norma arcigna che va avanti a lungo senza grandi accelerazioni, ma riesce lo stesso a impattare bene, grazie anche all’abilità del trio nel creare riff semplici ma sempre efficaci. È proprio per questo che abbiamo un pezzo ottimo, il migliore di quelli nuovi – e a un pelo dal meglio della scaletta. Dopo un intro lontano ed echeggiato, No Mercy for Victory prende vita lenta e cupa. È questa la linea su cui si muove quasi tutto il pezzo: le strofe sono molto rallentate, con un retrogusto doom ben più che vago e un senso desolato dato dalle molte dissonanze della chitarra. Lo stesso vale per i ritornelli, che diventano più densi e lugubri grazie a ritmiche più taglienti. C’è spazio qua e là anche per cavalcate un po’ più animate, che arricchiscono lo spettro sonoro del pezzo, ma in generale è la lentezza che domina: solo lo stacco centrale accelera con convinzione, giusto per breve tempo peraltro. Non è certo un problema: l’atmosfera che si crea è davvero opprimente, asfissiante, e colpisce con gran potenza. È il segreto di una traccia che spiccava nell’EP e fa lo stesso anche qui, come il picco di Toxiferous Cyanide con Here’s the Knife e Krucifier.

Evil Awakes prosegue sul sentiero tracciato dalla precedente, ma solo per l’intro rallentato, che presto lascia il posto al deflagrare di un nuovo ritorno di fiamma. Tuttavia, i Mass Hypnosia stavolta non spingono sull’acceleratore a testa bassa: è più un senso nervoso e feroce a dominare il pezzo. Lo si sente bene nel riffage, circolare ma meno basso e possente del solito, assorbendo in sé venature black metal. Ne risulta un brano tempestoso, cupo e molto avvolgente: si genera una tensione particolare, che si scioglie pian piano solo quando il pezzo rallenta e comincia a mutare. Presto infatti la musica assume una nuova identità, più costante e diretta, inizialmente abbastanza sottotraccia per poi farsi sempre più rutilante, fino all’intermezzo solistico, molto classico ma con un gran impatto. È probabilmente il momento migliore di un pezzo che pur essendo il meno bello tra i quattro provenienti dall’EP è comunque di livello molto alto. Dopo un inizio davvero convulso, la seguente Toxiferous Cyanide fugge come il solito pezzo dei filippini, potente ed estremo, anche se per ora sa un po’ di già sentito a tratti. È una norma che va avanti a lungo, intervallata da alcuni stacchi lievemente più tranquilli, in cui però Rosales urla tantissimo. In più, stavolta la struttura è tortuosa, con un mucchio di passaggi incolonnati e incastri repentini, che a volte però creano confusione. In più, non tutto funziona bene: soprattutto i passaggi più veloci risultano non solo un banali, ma non sempre graffiano al punto giusto. Va meglio invece per quelli più lenti ma d’impatto: un buon esempio è il riff finale, abbastanza efficace. In generale, se il livello di molti passaggi è più che discreto, nel complesso abbiamo un brano parecchio sotto alla media, addirittura il punto più basso dell’album a cui dà il nome. A questo punto, siamo ormai agli sgoccioli: in Toxiferous Cyanide c’è spazio solo per Unbound – Outro, una conclusione atipica, specie per quanto riguarda un disco thrash/death – lo avrei visto meglio in un album doom o black. Si tratta di un lungo brano ambient in cui la chitarra pulita si intreccia e si sovrappone a un tappeto docile di effetti sonori distanti ed echeggiati, solo vagamente sinistro. Sembra quasi che tutto il brano debba muoversi su questa direzione quando lentamente, come da un abisso, spunta una distorsione potente: è il preludio al finale, che si fa rumoroso, un breve frammento drone che occupa la scena giusto qualche attimo, prima di spegnersi nel vuoto. Si tratta di un finale abbastanza spiazzante, ma che in fondo non dà fastidio, anzi: è più che adatto se non altro per riposare le orecchie dopo una devastazione del genere.

Concludendo, anche a dispetto di qualche difetto Toxiferous Cyanide resta un album di buonissima qualità, genuino e ispirato, oltre che ammirevole per quanto riguarda l’energia. Se quindi siete fan del thrash/death metal classico e volete qualcosa che suoni d’annata, ma in maniera né nostalgica né trita, i Mass Hypnosia sono un nome a cui prestare attenzione. Dategli una chance, vedrete che i filippini sapranno ripagarvi con la giusta dose di distruzione!

Voto: 82/100

Mattia

Mass Hyppnosia in Heavenofheavymetal.blogspot

 

Mass Hypnosia's "Toxiferous Cyanide" in Powermetal.de

Mass Hypnosia's "Toxiferous Cyanide" in Powermetal.de
Rating: 8/10 pints; Autor: Holger Andrae

MASS HYPNOSIA - Toxiferous Cyanide
Totschläger und dunkle Engel!

Nach dem sensationellen LOST WORLD ORDER-Kracher vor ein paar Wochen, beschert uns das kultige Ragnarök-Label mit dem zweiten Album des philippinischen Trios MASS HYPNOSIA gleich zum Jahresstart den nächsten Knaller. Angelehnt an frühe SLAYER und KREATOR-Songs rammt das Trio mit seinem ruppigen Thrash alles in Grund und Boden. Schon das eröffnende 'Heres The Knife' macht mächtig Laune. Man kann sich dem energischen Überfallgerumpel des Dreiergespannes unmöglich entziehen. Eventuell muss man solche Musik schon in den späten 80er Jahren begeistert abgefeiert haben, um sich vom charismatischen Getrümmere dieser Heißsporne mitreißen zu lassen, denn zeitgemäß ist auf "Toxiferous Cyanide" gar nichts.
Hier wird aus dem Bauch heraus wild nach vorne geprügelt, ohne dass es konzeptlos klingt. Sänger und Gitarrist Karl Rosales hustet wütende Wortklumpen ins Mikrophon, während seine beide rhythmisch agierenden Mitstreiter taktisch zerstörerischen Hackepeter servieren. Man hört manchmal ganz alte Totschläger mit dunklen Engeln kämpfen, wobei ich mich nicht festlegen möchte, wer hier der Gewinner ist. Denn egal ob man das kraftvoll hackende 'Bullet Face' oder das wunderbar repetitive 'Krucifier' anschmeißt, es werden keine Gefangenen gemacht. Einen Originalitätsbonus gewinnt das Trio mit dieser Musik zwar nicht, aber das ist mir in dem Fall völlig gleichgültig. Besonders hervor eben möchte ich noch das treibende 'Evil Awakes', welches so richtig bösartig aus den Boxen knallt und seinem Namen alle Ehre macht. So macht Thrash so richtig Spaß!
Das einzige Manko ist der etwas trockene Klang und das seltsame Outro namens 'Unbound'. Hier hätte ich mich sehr viel mehr über eine weiter musikalische Handgranate gefreut als über drei Minuten Atmosphäre. Aber jeder wie er möchte.

Zu beziehen ist dieses sehr schön aufgemachte Teil bei Ragnarök Records.

Note: 8.00
Redakteur: Holger Andrae

Mass Hypnosia's "Toxiferous Cyanide" in Powermetal.de  

 

Mass Hypnosia's "Toxiferous Cyanide" in LEGACY Mag

Mass Hypnosia's "Toxiferous Cyanide" in LEGACY Mag

Rating: 11/15; Autor: Alex Fähnrich 

Mass Hypnosia - Toxiferous Cyanide (CD)
Label: Ragnarök Records
Genre: Asian Death Thrash

Schon das Cover lässt vermuten, dass Mass Hypnosia keine Gefangenen machen und so nimmt das Gemetzel mit dem Opener 'Here's The Knife' unweigerlich seinen Lauf. Der fiese Death Thrash der Philippinos ist sauber produziert und auch sauber gespielt, aber trotzdem so dreckig wie die Straßen Manilas, von wo das Trio stammt. Ich bin ja normalerweise ein Freund der feineren Klinge, aber diese südost-asiatische Machete zerlegt dir deine Eingeweide so vortrefflich, dass es eine wahre Freude ist.
Mir gefällt, dabei besonders, dass bei allem Geballer immer wieder Tempowechsel eingestreut werden. Auf diese Weise erscheinen einem die Hochgeschwindigkeitsfahrten noch halsbrecherischer als dies ohnehin der Fall ist. Gleichwohl liegt es auf der Hand, dass dieses Genre hier nicht neu erfunden wird. Slayer (Riffing) und Kreator (Gesang) lassen mehr als einmal grüßen, aber diese Referenzen werden eigentlich bei 90 Prozent aller Releases in diesem Bereich bemüht. Entscheidend ist, dass diese Jungs hier mit viel Herzblut und einer erfrischenden Ungezwungenheit zu Werke gehen, ohne zu offensichtlich ihre großen Vorbilder zu kopieren. Außerdem leistet man mit "Toxiferous Cyanide" Pionierarbeit und bringt die Philippinen auf die metallische Landkarte. Genau deshalb passt diese Combo perfekt ins Portfolio des aufstrebenden Underground- Labels Ragnarök, dessen bislang fünfte Veröffentlichung dieses Album darstellt.
Alle nötigen Infos findet ihr hier: https://www.ragnaroek-records.com Dort kann dieser Silberling auch für schlappe 12 Euronen erworben werden, so dass ihr euch demnächst selbst die Rübe zu 'Bullet Face', 'Unbound' und Konsorten abschrauben lassen könnt. Thrash hard!

11/15

Alex Fähnrich

Reviews

  • VoicesFromTheDarkside.de Autor: Michael Oelschlegel

    MASS HYPNOSIA
    Toxiferous Cyanide
    (Ragnarok Records)
    41:30min

    It's been a while since the last full length album from MASS HYPNOSIA saw the light of day. About six long years passed by

    Read More
  • Rating: 8,5/10 points ; Autor: Ludwig Lücker

    MASS HYPNOSIA
    TOXIFEROUS CYANIDE ( min.)
    RAGNARÖK /

    Das rührige Underground-Label Ragnarök Records veröffentlicht mit dem Silberling von Mass Hypnosia seinen fünften Dreher; auch der ist wieder gewohnt hochwertig. Das Trio

    Read More
  • MASS HYPNOSIA-Interview im MetalCrypt.com 

    Interview with vocalist and guitarist Karl Rosales

    Interview conducted by Luxi Lahtinen

    Date online: February 10, 2018

    Quite likely some of you have visited San Mateo, Rizal, Philippines and fell in

    Read More
  • Mass Hypnosia in DarkScene.at

    Rating: 8,0/10 ; Autor: Alex Fähnrich

    Mass Hypnosia - Toxiferous Cyanide (CD)
    Label: Ragnarök Records
    VÖ: 12.12.2016

    Schon das Cover lässt vermuten, dass Mass Hypnosia keine Gefangenen machen und so nimmt das Gemetzel

    Read More
  • Mass Hypnosia's "Toxiferous Cyanide" in MetalCrypt.com (Finnland/Suomi)

    Rating: 4,25/5 points; Autor: Luxi Lathinen

    Label: Ragnarok Records
    Year released: 2017
    Duration: 41:30
    Tracks: 9
    Genre: Thrash Metal
    Rating: 4.25/5
    Review online: April 28, 2017
    Reviewed by:

    Read More
  • Mass Hypnosia's "Toxiferous Cyanide" in Powermetal.de
    Rating: 8/10 pints; Autor: Holger Andrae

    MASS HYPNOSIA - Toxiferous Cyanide
    Totschläger und dunkle Engel!

    Nach dem sensationellen LOST WORLD ORDER-Kracher vor ein paar Wochen, beschert uns das kultige Ragnarök-Label

    Read More
  • Mass Hypnosia-Review in HeavenofHeavyMetal.blogspot

    Rating: 82/100; Autor: Matti

    Mass Hypnosia - Toxiferous Cyanide (2016)

    Per chi ha fretta:

    Dopo il demo No Mercy for Victory (2015), i filippini Mass Hypnosia si confermano un gruppo interessante col

    Read More
  • Mass Hypnosia's "Toxiferous Cyanide" in LEGACY Mag

    Rating: 11/15; Autor: Alex Fähnrich 

    Mass Hypnosia - Toxiferous Cyanide (CD)
    Label: Ragnarök Records
    Genre: Asian Death Thrash

    Schon das Cover lässt vermuten, dass Mass Hypnosia keine Gefangenen machen

    Read More
  • Rating: 7,5/10 ; Autor: Jürgen Tschamler

    MASS HYPNOSIA - Toxiferous Cyanide
    2017 (Ragnarök Records) - Stil: Death / Thrash Metal
    Auch auf den Philippinen wird gethrasht, wie uns MASS HYPNOSIA eindrucksvoll aufzeigen. Das neue Album des Trios, 'Toxiferous Cyanide',

    Read More
  • MASS HYPNOSIA's "Toxiferous Cyanide" in ROCK HARD-Mag

    Rating: 8/10 ; Autor: Patrick Schmidt 

    MASS HYPNOSIA
    Toxiferous Cyanide
    Ragnarök (41:28)
    VÖ: bereits erschienen

    Geiler Stoff aus dem Thrash-Underground gefällig? Dann zieht euch mal die Filipinos MASS HYPNOSIA

    Read More
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
Cookies make it easier for us to provide you with our services. With the usage of our services you permit us to use cookies.